Beauty DIY

I’m an autumn girl, for sure.  I love the balance between lingering summer heat, the beginnings of cool breezes, changing colors, mild temperatures, and all that good stuff.  To be honest, if I had to choose, summer may be my least favorite season.  Don’t get me wrong, there are tons of stuff to love about summer.  But weather-wise, it’s the pits.  Primarily because I hate being hot and I hate, hate sweat.

One of the downsides to sweating for me is random acne flare-ups that I don’t get any other time of the year.  Particularly on my back.  No bueno.  So, I’ve found a couple of homemade solutions for tackling those pesky pimples, which is great because lately I’ve been interested in finding more natural alternatives/brands.  I haven’t tried them yet, so I can’t personally attest to their effectiveness, but I think they may be worth a try.  They sound super simple to whip up and can be made with ingredients you probably already have.

 

{click on links or photos for instructions}

 

.

Strawberry Acne Mask

Benefits of the Ingredients:

Strawberry – A natural source of salicylic acid. SA is a common anti-acne ingredient used to clean out pores and get rid of blackheads without over drying the skin. Also used as a natural exfoliant.
Honey – The antibacterial properties in honey benefit acne-prone skin by reducing breakouts and healing current flair ups. It’s also a natural humectant so it locks in necessary moisture to keep skin hydrated and soothed.
Lemon – A natural astringent that tightens pores and brightens the complexion (because lemons are packed with Vitamin C and antioxidants).Also an ingredient commonly used to even out skin tone (good for minimizing the appearance of acne scarring).

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

Aspirin Acne Mask

Benefits of the Ingredients:
Aspirin – An anti-inflamatory so it will immediately reduce redness. Contains salicylic acid which is one of the most commonly used ingredients in acne products as it cleans out pores and exfoliates the skin (which is ideal for sloughing away fine lines and wrinkles too).
Honey – The antibacterial properties in honey benefit acne-prone skin by reducing breakouts and healing current flair ups. It’s also a natural humectant so it locks in necessary moisture to keep skin hydrated and glowing.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags:

4 Comments to “Beauty DIY”

  1. Good summer survival kit ideas. I keep saying that I cannot wait for fall and people look at my like I have 3 heads. I am over this heat wave! Glad to see someone else on the same page 🙂

  2. Was initially actually trying to find just a typical shower enclosures
    when I stumbled upon this web site, did not have any idea there was such a thing
    as a ‘steam shower enclosure’, wow, may very well just have to get one

Leave a Reply

