Metro Art Project

Ok, so I’ve lived in LA most of my life. While I wish I could take mass transit more often, let’s face it, our system is inconvenient and expensive. But still, I’m annoyed at myself for never before knowing about the existence of the art hidden below at the the Hollywood and Vine station. It’s interior was designed by Gilbert “Magú” Luján, a Los Angeles painter, muralist and sculptor, as part of the Metro Art Project in 1999 and is quite evidently an homage to old Hollywood. Checking out the site, I now have a taste of what Luján has created and would love to go see it for myself.

Sadly I was only just led to this discovery by the news that Luján passed on Sunday at the age of 70. But I hope he’s happy to know that his work is still being discovered and appreciated by Angelenos and visitors.

 


Tags: ,

3 Comments to “Metro Art Project”

  1. i’ve been to that station! the art is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

