Chewy Popcorn Snack Bars

The other day I read a yummy post by Lauren over at A Full Measure of Happiness. As soon as I saw it, I was all over it. A simple, homemade alternative to all those not-so-healthy “healthy” snack bars on the market. Here’s how it went.

 

Recipe:

  • 8 cups of popped popcorn
    • I only had kettle popcorn on hand, but on the plus side it was 94% fat free.
  • 2 cups of old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup of almonds (or whatever mix of nuts you like)
    • My raw almonds looked like they may be too big so I gave them a very rough chop.
  • 1 cup raisins (or whatever dried fruits you like)
    • I’m not a huge raisin fan so I considered dried cranberries, but Trader Joe’s sells awesome golden raisins which are juicy and delicious so I used those.
  • 1/2 cup of honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar
    • It was originally 3/4 cups of each, but based on Lauren’s note, I cut the sweet by half.  Plus I knew I had a touch of sweet from the kettle corn. Good thing because otherwise I think it would’ve been way too sweet for me.
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Directions:

  • Pop the popcorn
  • Combine honey, sugar and salt and boil in a small pot until combined and all the sugar is dissolved
    • Next time, because I halved the sugars, I think I’ll also add some water to increase the amount of glaze a bit. I feel like I didn’t quite have enough to coat everything and for the oats to soak up. Also, because I added sweet raisins, I think diluting the sweetness will work better for me.
  • Mix together popcorn, almonds, raisins and sweet mixture until well combined
  • In an oiled baking pan (~9×13) add mixture and press firmly
  • Refrigerate for about an hour so the mixture hardens and is easier to cut
    • I jumped the gun on this and took it out after only 30 minutes, and it was definitely messy-ish to cut.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let’s just say, chewy, crunchy, sticky sweet, snackalicious goodness! I’m going to pack some to take to work for those afternoon snack attacks. Honestly, I’d probably even eat this for breakfast with some milk or coffee.  Mmmm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags:

5 Comments to “Chewy Popcorn Snack Bars”

  1. oh my, these look delicious! i love healthier alternatives to satisfy that sweet tooth! im going to make these this weekend! 🙂

    • viv, these are tasty! my only tip is possibly adding a bit of water to the glaze so there is more binding agent, if you half the sugars like i did (which i would recommend because it’s definitely sweet enough). next time i want to try it with orange blossom honey and cranberries. yum!

  2. omg you’re so good.. this just looks like too much work ahahahahaa can i have some next time? or viv share with me! hahahaha

    • it’s super easy! just dissolve the sugars and mix w/the rest of the ingredients. pack into a baking pan and done! fridge is not necessary if you’re ok with just pulling pieces off. =)

  3. mmmmmmmmmmm like rice krispy treats but with more goodies!! Mmmmmm

Leave a Reply

