Sunday Old School Jam: Nessun Dorma

Today is Carmaggedon Day 2 and I hope yesterday’s good roads don’t encourage people to be out in full force today. Tonight I’m going to the Hollywood Bowl to see Puccini’s Turandot presented by the LA Phil and conducted by Dudamel! My sister and I are taking my parents, along with her fiance, and we plan on picnicking before the performance. Family + food & wine + music under the stars = awesome.

So today I give you Pavarotti’s rendition of Nessun Dorma from Turandot. It pretty much became Pavarotti’s signature song and it gives me goosebumps every time I hear him sing it. This particular video is of Pavarotti with Zubin Mehta, which is cool because the Turandot CD I have happens to be by the London Phil conducted by Mehta with Pavarotti playing the lead.

On a side note, I had lunch at Disney Hall a few weeks ago and saw Dudamel walking down the street. I hate that I get so starstruck and geeked out, and I’m still kicking myself for being too shy to go up to him, but he was just as sweet as can be to a few tourists who wanted to say hello. Such a cutie he is!

 

Leave a Reply

