Earl Grey Sugar Cookies

So here’s the recipe I came up with.  Any suggestions on how to improve (or what I did wrong) are always welcome! 🙂

Earl Grey Sugar Cookies Approx. 2 dozen regular cookies (but I was aiming for 90+ mini cookies)

Ingredients:

  • 2 ¼ cups of flour 
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Approx. 2 Tablespoons loose Earl Grey tea leaves
    • I used about 2 1/2 tea bags, but wished I had used more.  I’d say 3-4 would be good.
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 sticks butter = 1 cup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sugar (for rolling the dough balls in)

Baking:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Dry Ingredients:
    • Sift together flour, tea, salt and baking soda
  • Wet Ingredients:
    • Cream together butter, 1 cup of sugar and vanilla until smooth.   Then add the egg and beat until fluffy.
    • Slowly add dry ingredients to wet and mix until combined
  • Pour 1/2 cup of sugar into a shallow plate (add more as needed)
  • Form dough into balls (when they bake they’ll about double in diameter) and roll in the sugar
    • I also pressed them with a stamp.  I ended up with a faint design, but the cookies were less soft.  Next time I’ll press them more lightly.
  • Line your baking sheet with parchment paper (or silpat mat) and bake for about 8-10 min
    • You’ll want to check them as baking time will vary depending on cookie size.  You want the cookie to just get a bit golden around the edges, but the cookie should stay pale.

Tags:

5 Comments to “Earl Grey Sugar Cookies”

  1. Get. Out. of. TOWN! I’ve been looking to try these cookies!!!! I so wish we lived closer!!

    • what do you mean you’ve been looking for them? the shortbread recipe or the sugar cookies? let me know. if it’s the shortbread, i can email you the recipe that i managed to ruin. if it’s the sugar, it was trial and error for me so you’ll have to take the recipe and feel it out for yourself. =)

  2. This recipe is amazing! I used 3 tea bags and that turned out wonderfully.

Leave a Reply

