Banana Mini Bundt Cakes

 

Ok, so remember my previous post and how I was so excited to try my hand at bundt baking?  So last Saturday I tested out the Kiss My Bundt banana bread recipe and it was an utter failure.  The cake was rather flour-y vs. banana bread-y and the texture was funky.  I considered baker (me) error and was irritated with myself, but then I tried a different recipe the next day and it came out waaay better.  The second recipe was actually for a banana bread loaf, so I tweaked it a bit (ingredient quantities, ingredient substitution, baking time/temp) to work with the bundt pan, but the recipes were pretty different from each other.

I don’t have photos of either attempt (I know I need to get better at photo documenting if I’m going blog), but I will definitely be making the successful batch again so I’ll come back and insert those pics here when I do.

Here’s what I did the second time.  I used it for the mini bundt pan, so I believe it will work as a cupcake recipe, as well.

Banana Bread Mini Bundts
Approx. 12 mini bundts/cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted, softened butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 1/2 Tablespoon milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Baking:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F

  • Bowl 1 (this is your final mixing bowl, so I’d suggest you use a large one)
    • Cream together the sugar and butter until light and fluffy
    • Add the egg and beat well
  • Bowl 2
    • Mash up the bananas until relatively smooth and slightly liquidy
    • Mix in the milk and vanilla
  • Bowl 3
    • Mix together your dry ingredients:  flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt
  •  Add the banana mixture to the large bowl with the creamed mixture and combine
  • Slowly add the dry mix and make sure it’s well incorporated
  • Butter or spray your baking pan
    • I like the baking sprays that include flour = awesome
  • Pour batter into each well (about 2/3 full)
  • Bake for approximately 20 minutes
    • Please note that time may vary based on pan size and your oven
    • Use a toothpick to check whether they’re done.  Toothpick should come out clean.
  • Let cool

 

p.s.  Follow up photos here

Tags:

2 Responses to “Banana Mini Bundt Cakes”

  1. Let me know the next time you bake the bundt cakes! I can photograph…and taste test 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

