Lasagna: Solo or Duet

I really like lasagna, but only make it every once in blue moon because 1) it’s a lot of work for a one or two person meal, and 2) a whole lasagna is usually waaaay too much.  After the third day, I’m pretty over eating it.  For a more reasonable amount, I’ve made lasagna rolls a couple times, but they’re kind of a messy pain to eat.

KS and I were complaining about just this thing when, in a moment of genius, I said, what about making it in a loaf pan!  KS and I were pretty excited about this idea.  So I tried it tonight and it came out to a perfect 3 (or 2 very healthy) portions.  I just had to shorten the lasagna pasta to fit the pan and used 2 for each layer (they ended up overlapping a bit).  I also guesstimated on the ingredient quantities.

You can substitute with your favorite lasagna filling ingredients, but this is what I used:

  • For meat layer:
    • ~ 1/2 lb ground turkey
    • ~ 1 cup of frozen cut veggies
    • seasonings and some of the sauce
  • For cheese layer:
    • ~ 2/3 cup of frozen spinach (before thawing and squeezing of liquid)
    • ~ 1/2 cup of ricotta
    • ~ 1/2 egg
    • seasonings

I topped it with burrata and parm.  Then into a 400 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes.

Delicious.  Perfect portions.  And it’s so much easier to work with only 6 lasagna noodles!

Tags:

3 Comments to “Lasagna: Solo or Duet”

  1. Hellloooooooooooooooooo burrata on top??? I never would’ve thought of that!!! Love your loaf pan idea…Will have to try it for me and mincho

    • omg, seriously. i was soooo excited about the idea. and it’s the perfect portion. yay, i don’t have to eat lasagna for the next three days now!

      burrata. mmmm. i used one ball to top the lasagna. then proceeded to scarf down the next ball along with the cut pieces of pasta and leftover meat filling. i ended up being too full for the lasagna. haha.

Leave a Reply

