Seattle: Leonard

So, the second thing that stood out from this trip is my discovery of little Leonard the Goldfish’s big campaign to be let back in to the Seattle Aquarium. While my visit to the Aquarium was less than thrilling, on my way out I was lucky enough to notice a wall of various posters all about this goldfish.  This piqued my curiosity, so of course I googled him when I got home — there are lots of youtube videos related to the “Let Leonard In” campaign.

So, it seems the Aquarium ran an ad campaign around this goldfish, Leonard, who used to live in a fishtank at the entrance (this is based on one of the ads I found on youtube).  Apparently, Leonard’s ego ran away with him, leading to naughty behaviour, such as loud music and broken windows, which eventually got him kicked out.  “Let Leonard In” is supposed to be his campaign for just that and it sounds like they ran all kinds of ads for it.  I don’t remember seeing a goldfish in a tank, but I hope they’ve let Leonard in…

But back to that wall, what caught my eye were the various styles of the prints, from a take on a film noir movie poster to an underground band show flyer.  Very clever!  Here are some, taken with my iphone:

Tags: , ,

2 Comments to “Seattle: Leonard”

  1. What’s let Leonard in? Why are all those fishies posters so cute?! I want to know!!!

    How fun, Kero! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the city…I’ve never been! I’ll have to hit you up for some recos when I do. 🙂

    • hehe. I updated the post w/the Leonard 411. The poster were cool, tho! I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture of all of them — my mind must not have been working right. Anywho, each of them was a take on a different style/type of poster. Like a old broadway show poster, underground band flyer you might see on a pole, old film poster, a demonstration poster, etc. Really neat. =)

Leave a Reply

